Skip to content

The 72nd Emmy Awards Keeps Its Distance

2020 Emmy Awards

As with everything else in the world, this year’s Emmy Awards will look quite a bit different this year – pretty much just Jimmy Kimmel on a blank stage. The celebs eager to win will have to accept their prize via Skype or Zoom or something else along those lines. No audience other than the limited stage crew will be present. It could be a disaster or maybe we’ll never want to go back to the “old way” ever again.

Only a couple of weeks away, it appears that ABC might be scrambling to put together a show worth watching. Together with the Television Academy, ABC has announced that some of the talent appearing on the 72nd program will include Anthony Anderson, America Ferrera, Issa Rae, Gabrielle Union, J.J. Watt, Lena Waithe, Oprah Winfrey, Jason Bateman, Sterling K. Brown, Laverne Cox, Sesame Street’s Count Von Count, Morgan Freeman, Ilana Glazer, Abbi Jacobson, Lin-Manuel Miranda, D-Nice, Randall Park, RuPaul, Patrick Stewart and Jason Sudeikis. Additionally, singer-songwriter H.E.R. will make her Emmy® debut for a special “In Memoriam” performance.

The producers of the 72nd Emmy Awards are giving a sneak peek at the trophy presenters who may be visiting some of the winners live during Sunday’s telecast. Not only is this a fun and irreverent visual, but it also ensures the health and safety of all of our winners and the presenter by following all of the health and safety protocols – with a twist.

(ABC/Lindha Narvaez)

The actual hazmat suit was created and designed by costume designer Katja Cahill and executive producer Guy Carrington, who worked with a hazmat manufacturer to create them for the show. 

Before the Show:

Streaming news channel ABC News Live will roll out a virtual preshow to celebrate the 72nd Emmy Awards with the special live streaming program Countdown to the Emmys. The 90-minute live special hosted by Good Morning America weekend co-anchors Eva Pilgrim and Whit Johnson, and ABC News correspondent Janai Norman, from ABC News headquarters in New York, will stream Sunday, Sept. 20 (6:30-8:00 p.m. EDT/3:30-5:00 p.m. PDT). Available globally and to more than 200 million streamers through distribution of ABC News Live, Countdown to the Emmys will feature live interviews with nominees; showcase the most diverse group of nominees ever; predict who will win and who might surprise during the ceremony; spotlight the unprecedented year for TV production; and revisit some of the greatest fashion to grace Emmys red carpets of the past, along with a glimpse at this year’s “couch couture.”

Pilgrim, Norman and Johnson will be joined by ABC News correspondent Chris Connelly and ESPN’s The Undefeated senior entertainment reporter Kelley Carter live from outside of the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

This year’s nominees include:

Lead Actress in a Drama Series: Jennifer Aniston (The Morning Show), Olivia Colman (The Crown), Jodie Comer (Killing Eve), Laura Linney (Ozark), Sandra Oh (Killing Eve) and Zendaya (Euphoria)

Lead Actor in a Drama Series: Jason Bateman (Ozark), Steling K. Brown (This is Us), Steve Carell (The Morning Show), Brian Cox (Succession), Billy Porter (Pose) and Jeremy Strong (Succession)

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series: Christina Applegate (Dead to Me), Rachel Brosnahan (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Linda Cardellini (Dead to Me), Catherine O’Hara (Schitt’s Creek), Issa Rae (Insecure) and Tracee Ellis Ross (Black-ish)

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series: Anthony Anderson (Black-ish), Don Cheadle (Black Monday), Ted Danson (The Good Place), Michael Douglas (The Kominsky Method), Eugene Levy (Schitt’s Creek), Ramy Youssef (Ramy)

Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie: Cate Blanchett (Mrs. America), Shira Haas (Unorthodox), Regina King (Watchmen), Octavia Spencer (Self Made: Inspired by the Life of Madam C.J. Walker), Kerry Washington (Little Fires Everywhere)

Lead Actor in a Limited Series of Movie: Jeremy Irons (Watchmen), Hugh Jackman (Bad Education), Paul Mescal (Normal People), Jeremy Pope (Hollywood) and Mark Ruffalo (I Know This Much is True)

Supporting Actress in a Drama Series: Helena Bonham Carter (The Crown); Laura Dern (Big Little Lies), Julia Garner (Ozark), Thandie Newton (Westworld), Fiona Shaw (Killing Eve), Sarah Snook (Succession), Meryl Streep (Big Little Lies) and Samira Wiley (The Handmaid’s Tale)

Supporting Actor in a Drama Series: Nicholas Braun (Succession), Billy Crudup (The Morning Show), Kieran Culkin (Succession), Mark Duplass (The Morning Show), Giancarlo Esposito (Better Call Saul), Matthew Macfadyen (Succession), Bradley Whitford (The Handmaid’s Tale) and Jerry Wright (Westworld)

Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Alex Borstein (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), D’Arcy Carden (The Good Place), Betty Gilpin (Glow), Marin Hinkle (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), Kate McKinnon (Saturday Night Live), Annie Murphy (Schitt’s Creek), Yvonne Orji (Insecure) and Cecily Strong (Saturday Night Live)

Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Mahershala Ali (Ramy), Alan Arkin (The Kominsky Method), Andre Braugher (Brooklyn Nine-Nine), Sterling K. Brown (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel), William Jackson Harper (The Good Place), Daniel Levy (Schitt’s Creek), Tony Shalhoub (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) and Kenan Thompson (Saturday Night Live)

For the complete list of nominees, visit The 72nd Emmy Awards will broadcast airs on Sunday, September 20 live (8:00 p.m. EDT/6:00 p.m. MDT/5:00 p.m. PDT), on ABC.

Jeffrey Totey View All

I write about pop culture, arts and entertainment in the greater Seattle area.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: